Print page Email page

Planning and Zoning Commission

The concept of planned growth and development is not new to Wethersfield. Zoning regulations were adopted on May 24, 1926 and subdivision regulations were in effect on March 16, 1955.

The Planning and Zoning Commission (PZC) has been designated with all of the powers and duties prescribed by the Connecticut General Statutes to regulate land use in Wethersfield. More specifically, the commission has the following authority:

  • To adopt and amend the subdivision regulations;
  • To regulate the subdivision and re-subdivision of land;
  • To adopt and amend the zoning regulations;
  • To adopt and amend the zoning map;
  • To review applications for site plans and special permits;
  • To review and approve the town's Plan of Conservation and Development;
  • To review and advise on all municipal improvement projects.

The commission works closely with the Design Review Advisory Committee and has created a pre-application review process to assist applicants with the development review process. The commission's fee schedule, applications, guides and other forms are available online.

The commission has established a Sign Regulation Review Committee to review those sections of the zoning regulations pertaining to signage.

The Commission has created a Bicycle and Pedestrian Stakeholders Advisory Committee for the purpose of creating a Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan and Complete Streets Policy.


The commission consists of nine regular members and three alternates appointed by the Town Council.

Member Position
Richard Roberts Chair
Ryan Allard Vice Chair
Joseph L. Hammer Clerk
James Hughes  
George B. Oickle  
Tom Dean  
Anthony Homicki  
Dave Edwards  
Michael Vieira  
Alternate Members
David Drake  
Yolanda Antoniak  
Hazim Korkutovic  
Ex Officio Nonvoting Members
Derrick Gregor Town Engineer
Peter Gillespie Director of Planning & Economic Development

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are typically held on the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 7 p.m. in Town Council Chambers, 505 Silas Deane Highway, and are noted, along with with the agenda, on the Calendar of Events. The commission's meeting minutes are available online.

For further information contact:
Peter D. Gillespie, Director of Planning and Economic Development at (860) 721-2838; or
Denise Bradley, Assistant Planner at (860) 721-2837.

Current Planning and Zoning Commission Meeting