Print page Email page

Safety Belt Law and Form

Connecticut Safety Belt Law

Effective October 1, 2005, Connecticut state law requires that all children must be properly restrained in a federally approved car seat or booster until they are over 6 years of age AND 60 pounds (both the age and weight requirements must be met). After children outgrow their car seat, they must ride in a booster seat using a lap and shoulder belt.

The law also requires that infants remain rear-facing until they are 1 year of age AND 20 pounds.

Children between the ages of 7 and 16 years must also use safety belts and should ride in the back seat. The driver is responsible for any passenger under the age of 16 years.

Child Restraint Infractions/Violations

Statute Violation Fine
14-100a(d) Transportation of child 6 or under or weighing less than 60 lbs. without child restraint system. $92.00
14-100a(d)(1) Transportation of child 7 or older weighing 60 lbs. or more without child restraint system or safety belt. $92.00
14-100a(d)(2) Failure to require child under 1 year or weighing less than 20 lbs. to ride in a child restraint system that is rear facing. $92.00
14-100a(d)(4) Securing child in booster seat without safety belt that includes a shoulder belt. $92.00
14-100a(c1)* Failure to secure/caused to be secured in a seat safety belt any passenger 7 years of age or older and under 16 years of age. $92.00

Safety Seat Belt Checks

The Wethersfield Police Department accepts individual appointments for Child Safety Seat Belt checks to all Wethersfield residents free of charge. Under certain circumstances we have been able to provide free child safety seats to those who are unable to provide for themselves. The Wethersfield Police Department has three Child Safety Seat technicians trained specifically to check today's modern automobiles. If you're unsure your child's safety seat is safe or secured properly you may arrange for a Child Seat inspection. Please call (860) 721-2900 and leave a message or fill out the form below, and one of our officers will contact you.

I am requesting that a seatbelt technician from the Wethersfield Police Department contact me to arrange for a Child Safety Seat inspection.

Note: Entries are required for all items. Enter None or n/a if not applicable.

Street Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email Address: 
Date of Report: 
Best time to contact me is between:  

By clicking "submit" on this form I hereby authorize the action requested and/or police use of the information supplied. I certify that all information as entered is true and correct. I am aware that by submitting this form, my Internet IP address will become available to the Wethersfield Police Department. This IP address can and will be traced if this form is submitted unlawfully.

IMPORTANT: When you submit this form a confirmation page will be displayed. To keep a copy of your submission, print the confirmation page. After your information is confirmed, you may terminate your connection to this site.