Print page Email page

Tourism Commission

The Wethersfield Tourism Commission was created by town ordinance in 1999 for the following purposes: "…to promote and encourage tourism, to make visitors to the New England area aware of Wethersfield's heritage and its historic and scenic sites, to coordinate a year round calendar of events and promotions, and to assist in the marketing of any product promoting Wethersfield as 'Ye Most Auncient Town.' "

The commission works closely with the Historical Society, the Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum, the Old Wethersfield Shopkeepers Association and other organizations interested in promoting the town to potential visitors.

The commission maintains a web site that can be viewed at


The commission consists of nine regular members and two alternates appointed by the Town Council.

Commission Members
Member Position
Christine Traczyk Chair
Charles Forsdick
Charles Ford
Carol Bruce
Carol Hall
Charles Lyle
Elizabeth Thompson
Katie Sullivan
Ellen Spratlin
Dorcas McHugh

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. in Town Hall, Town Manager's Conference Room, First Floor on the last Tuesday of each month. The commission's meeting minutes are available online.

For further information contact Peter Gillespie, Director of Planning and Economic Development at (860) 721-2838.